Part I: Shanon Nelson; educator, author, and mompreneur

Shanon Nelson, author, professor, mompreneur

It is my pleasure to present our very first HERstory Maker, Shanon Nelson. 

Shanon has overcome great adversity in her life to become the woman that she is today.   Shanon, a Professional Speaker, Author, Small Business Coach, MomPreneur and Professor of Management at Saint Leo University recently published.  She shares her trials, tragedies and ultimate triumphs with readers in her new book, “Get Over Your B.S. – Change Your Belief System and Transform Your Life.” 

Shanon’s passion is to inspire others to live productive and FULL professional and personal lives. Her greatest fulfillment is assisting others with making their dreams come true.

SHANON NELSON

What personal or professional challenges have you experienced and how did you overcome them?

WOW! Where do I start? I married when I was 16 years old and that became the catalyst to everything else being out of order in my life. I ended up getting pregnant shortly thereafter and remember my freshman year in college being pregnant. It was one of the most embarrassing experiences in my life watching others gawk at me as if I was a whore or something. Shortly thereafter our marriage fell apart, and I found myself in and out of bad relationships from that point on.  I married again years later in my early twenties to an abusive person who later ended up abandoning me and my four children. It broke me into a million pieces but it was necessary for me to live on purpose. I finally was shaken to the core that I was ready to do something about my situation. Life was just happening to me and I was tired of being helpless. I cried out to God and asked if him if he could help me. I told him that I couldn’t do this anymore, and I meant it. I couldn’t take it anymore. He picked me up, broken, busted, and disgusted piece by piece and helped me put my life back together again. It hasn’t always been easy, but God has been faithful. Through it all I held strong to my faith in a higher being loving me more than I loved myself. I continued to push past the pain and pursue my education and employment opportunities. I was faithful over the little that I had and God soon gave me much more to be faithful over. I didn’t despise my small beginnings. Before long, I landed an opportunity at the college and that was the BEGINNING OF THE REST OF MY LIFE! If there’s one piece of advice that I can give others, it would be: NEVER, EVER GIVE UP! One day at a time, be faithful. Keep at it! Before long, you’ll be living the life that you’ve always wanted to live. 

What do you do for a living and why do you do it? 

I am the nation’s leading Mompreneur, a Professional Speaker, Author, and Professor of Management at Saint Leo University. I do it because I have a PASSION for helping others succeed in all that they do. I have a burden particularly for helping women be self sufficient and capable of caring for themselves and their children. I love business and the thought of empowering others to be successful business owners.  I am not fulfilled unless I help others fulfill their purpose. Myles Monroe once said, “Where purpose is unknown, abuse will certainly follow.” It is my passion to help as many people live fulfilling lives. In order to do so, they must know their purpose and walk in it.

What is the best advice you’ve ever received?

Pursue Holiness. Laws are created to protect us but many of us do not want to obey the laws and as a result we hurt ourselves. Life is about choices, challenges, and change. The choices we make determine the quality of life that we will live. We must be accountable for our actions, despite what others may or may not do to us. Live life on purpose! Treat people like you want to be treated. Sow good seeds, and good seeds will come back to you! 

Leave a Reply

