“If you don’t come up with your own definition of success, you will always be living someone else’s purpose.” ~ Nicole J. Butler

  

    

Nicole J. Butler, HERstory Maker

We introduced you to HERstory Maker and professional actress, Nicole J. Butler last month.

Please enjoy Part 2 of her HERstory making interview.

 


How do you maintain the integrity of your personal mission while navigating the demands of your industry?

I trust my intuition.  When life gets too hectic, or I have a “why the heck am I doing this??” moment, I check in with myself to see if what I’m doing has real value to me or anyone else, and I pay close attention to my answer as non-judgementally as possible.  If the answer is “Yes, this is something I want to do,”  I adjust my attitude, and roll up my sleeves.   If not, I stop doing it as soon as is practical.  I do gather the perspectives of other people that I respect, but I don’t let any of them outweigh my own inner voice in making the final determination of what’s right for me personally and professionally.

  

How do you define success?

My definition of success changes periodically, but I really don’t think it’s as important to know HOW I define it, as it is to know that I DO define it, for myself, and that I refuse to blindly accept whatever definition of success is widely promoted by well- or ill-intentioned others.  If you don’t come up with your own definition of success, you will always be living someone else’s purpose.

  

How would you like people to describe your contribution to your industry/community?

Oh boy, you do ask some tough questions, don’t you??  I’m working through this particular question in my life right now – I really just want to give to people in such a way that they are better off for having known me.  Hopefully that doesn’t sound arrogant, because I don’t mean it that way.  I just want to enrich rather than deplete.  There have been many people in my life, including some who have passed away, who have been so generous with themselves, and some of them touched my life in ways that it has taken me years to realize.  Now that I am aware, it’s my desire and my responsibility to pay it forward.

What exciting personal or professional are you currently working on?

I’m working as a talent coordinator for BET Honors, auditioning, doing some work for the NAACP Image Awards, writing 2 books,  and looking forward to seeing some projects that I shot last year hit the small screen!

One response to ““If you don’t come up with your own definition of success, you will always be living someone else’s purpose.” ~ Nicole J. Butler

Leave a Reply

