“It was placed on my heart to be the change that I wanted to see in the world.” – Bernada Baker

Last month, Girls Rule! had the pleasure of supporting our next HERstory Maker, Bernada Baker, at an event hosted by her organization, Princess Within.  Bernada aims to empower, inspire and equip girls to discover the Princess that lies Within.

HERstory Maker, Bernada Baker

What do you do for a living and why do you do it?  Is this the pathway you thought you’d take in life? 

I am the Founder/CEO of The Princess Within Foundation. My mission is to empower girls to discover the princess within. It was placed on my heart to be the change that I wanted to see in the world. I was sick and tired of seeing young girls having babies and I felt that it was my mission in life to empower our girls to make better quality decisions. By no means, was this the pathway that I thought I would be on today, as a matter of fact I had great aspirations of becoming an extraordinary hospital administrator at Northwestern Hospital.

 

What do you see yourself doing in 5 – 10 years, in your business and personal life?

 I envision myself 5-10 years from now, working with a full time staff for The Princess Within Foundation, operating chapters across the world, even in third world countries. I envision myself married with at least 2 children, having completed my Doctoral Degree in Ministry and living life without limitations or boundaries.  

What is the best advice you’ve ever received?   

The best advice that I have ever received is that, “life is only 10% of what happens to you and 90% of how you react to it.” I would tell girls to put their books before boys and to follow their dreams without allowing distractions and/or dream killers to detour them from fulfilling their destiny.

What exciting personal or professional projects are you currently working on?

Professionally, I am currently working on launching The Princess Within Modeling Agency, as well as 3 new books. Personally, I am working on preparing myself to be swept away by my God sent king aka husband!

Stay tuned for part 2 of Bernada’s interview next week.

Leave a Reply

